YB Datuk Seri Panglima Masidi Manjun (fourth from left) receiving a memento from IDS CEO Mr. Anthony Kiob.

KOTA KINABALU (Tue): The IDS Management Committee led by CEO, Mr. Anthony Kiob paid a courtesy call to YB Datuk Seri Panglima Masidi Manjun, Minister of Local Government and Housing cum Sabah Finance Minister II on Tuesday, 9th February 2021 in Wisma Innoprise, Kota Kinabalu.


YB Datuk Seri Masidi who served as the Institute’s Chairman from 1994 to 2004 expressed his joy at IDS’ tremendous progress in its social economic research and fully supports the Institute’s strategy in empowering districts officers as an effort to create a holistic district development plan in Sabah. “In the past years, Sabah’s development lacks continuity and direction as it is often stalled or shifts in direction mid-way due to economic and political changes. A comprehensive development plan has to be drafted to serve as a guideline for the state’s current and future development,” he said.


Mr. Anthony stated that IDS’ grassroot research approach gives an insight to the general masses opinions and concerns regarding past development efforts, hence are able to identify and narrow the gap in overall development planning and implementation by both the Federal and State Government.


YB Datuk Seri Masidi  also added that the institute’s research capabilities can be maximised during this global pandemic by planning recovery strategies for the state’s industries, especially the tourism sector. “This is the time for our main industries, mainly tourism to fully recuperate and strategize on ways to attract visitors that can make significant contributions to the economy. To achieve sustainability within the sector, thorough planning is a necessity as we are able to identify and focus on specific tourism products instead of delving into our limited resources and eventually exhausting it,” he elaborated.


Also present during the discussion was IDS Management Committee comprising of Deputy CEO, Mr. Chong Vun Then, Mr. Richard T. Koh, Hajah Baiyah Ag. Mahmon, Hajah Hasnah Samsudin, Mdm. Jita S. Gimin and Ms. Anita Limjoon.

Share this article!